Annual Awards Banquet

Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, The Arc Lane County has postponed this event. The event will be rescheduled for another date, which will be announced soon.  

Every year, The Arc Lane County recognizes people and businesses in the community who generously give their time and talent to improve the quality of life for people who experience intellectual and/or developmental disabilities (I/DD).

All award winners will be recognized at The Arc’s Annual Awards Banquet to be held on Thursday, March 12. Please help us honor the wonderful people who are making valuable contributions in our community.


Award Categories

Direct Service Provider Award – Recognizes an exceptional individual who provides direct support to a person or group of people who experience an intellectual and/or developmental disability (I/DD). This may include classroom assistants or direct care staff in vocational, residential, or recreational programs. 

Winners: Amanda Pattee, Pearl Buck Center & Carolyn “Lina” Staub, Full Access Brokerage and Early Childhood CARES


Good Neighbor Award – Recognizes a business or agency in the community that performed an exceptional service on behalf of an individual or group of people who experience I/DD and their families.

Winner: Chevron at 42nd Street and Main St. in Springfield


Partners in Business Award – Recognizes a business, agency, or organization that has employed a person who experiences I/DD for more than a year.

Winner: WorkSource Lane 


Exceptional Employer Award – Recognizes a business, agency, or organization that has hired multiple people who experience disabilities. This award is given to an employer who has made valuable efforts in bringing people who experience I/DD into an integrated, community employment environment.

Winner: Speedway Express


Self-Determination Award – Recognizes an individual who experiences I/DD for either his/her personal achievement or his/her help in inspiring others.

Winner: Sherlyn Dendy


Volunteer of the Year Award – Recognizes an individual who generously gives his/her time and talent to benefit people who experience I/DD. This award is given to a volunteer who made a significant contribution to the welfare of people with I/DD and/or to The Arc Lane County. (This must be a volunteer and not a professional in the disability field.)

Winners: Jake Cunningham, Carmen Dowell, Kim Howell and Danielle Walk


Early Childhood Teacher of the Year Award – Recognizes an individual teacher for outstanding and exemplary skills in educating infants, toddlers, or preschool-age children who experience I/DD.

Winner: Molly Grant, Early Childhood CARES


Teacher of the Year Award – Recognizes an individual teacher for outstanding and exemplary skills in educating students who experience I/DD. This may be a general education teacher or a special education teacher in a K-12 classroom.

Winner: Bob Reed, North Eugene High School, Eugene 4j School District


Shining Star Award – Recognizes an exemplary person for his/her service to The Arc Lane County.

Winner: Nathan Nelson, The Arc Lane County


Lisl Waechter Award – Named after Lisl Waechter, who founded The Arc Lane County, this prestigious award honors an exceptional volunteer or professional who has devoted his/her life to enhancing the lives of individuals with disabilities. This may include service providers, teachers, legislators, vocational counselors, parents, or people who experience disabilities – anyone who has made a significant contribution while working in the disability field.

Winner: Sally Mann, Springfield School District


Lifetime Achievement Award – This award honors a person for his/her lifelong dedication and commitment to people with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities and their families.

Winner: Judy Newman, Early Childhood CARES

Shining Star Award

Read why The Arc Lane County awards Nathan Nelson the Shining Star award.

Awards Banquet Tickets

Join us for a special evening when The Arc will honor special people and businesses in Lane County! Purchase your ticket for The Arc Annual Awards Banquet.